Poets logo

A Moment of Hope

The goddess is behind you

By Teresa RentonPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
11
A Moment of Hope
Photo by Abigail Keenan on Unsplash

He was in my class,

attended the same college,

never knew my name.

*

Six foot tall; dark hair,

girls hung onto every word.

What chance did I have?

*

Short, unsporty, me,

never even got a ‘Hi!’

Then my luck changes:

*

At a train station,

you glance along the platform

to where I’m standing.

*

My secret crush smiles.

Disarmed, I wink and smile back.

Then she emerges.

***

Teresa Renton has a first-class degree in English Linguistics and Language Creativity from the Open University. Her work has previously been published in Flash Fiction Magazine, Across the Margin, Stick Figure Poetry, 101 Words, and 50 Give or Take

sad poetryhumor
11

About the Creator

Teresa Renton

Inhaling life, exhaling stories, poetry, prose, flash or fusions. An imperfect perfectionist who writes and recycles words. I write because I love how it feels to make ink patterns & form words, like pictures, on a page.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Alexander McEvoy5 months ago

    This poem was tragic, relatable and absolutely stunning!

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    ☹️ Nice job! 👍

  • Oh you had my hopeless romantic side flaring up thinking there was a happy ending then she emerges and it was like a punch in the chest. Well done. Loved this.

  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    Noooo! I was so hopeful for her and then you crushed my dreams. lol! This was a perfect little Senryu collection!

  • Oh no, this was both embarrassing and heartbreaking! Loved your Senryus!

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Oh darn. You should have piledrived her.

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    Maybe the she who emerges is within you.

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    Oohhh! Perfect to have this be a senryu series; the added context makes the snafu moment all the more cringey and punchy. Love it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.