Poets logo

A Matrix of Change

A funny story telling how poetry can be shared

By Joyce Plair-JordanPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

There used to be a time when there were limited ways to share a poem: type it, photocopy it, or say it aloud. Of course we know these are what's now referred to as "Dinosaur Methods". I quickly found this out when my son laughed me out of his room after I so proudly shared a Facebook post where I had photo shot a picture of my poem. It was this moment that inspired me to find 'new millennium' ways to share my work. Yes, my timeshare in my comfort zone was bound to be rented by my fearless way forward.

Google Search

The search began pretty much the same way as the Matrix in the part where the white rabbit leads Neo to his first encounter with Trinity. I awoke from a loud knock on the door. It was the pizza guy; he was late. We made our exchange, then, as an after thought, he requested I follow him at TheEveryGirl.com. I danced back to the computer, turned the music up... Bam! Etsy.com was flashing on the screen and saying, "May require sign in using your Google account." I immediately fell into dilemma-- the red pill, or the blue one?

Etsy.com

Nearsightedness at my age brought me face-to-face with the computer. This appears to be a great site for anyone intending to personalize a gift using an original poem. A canvas wall poster, hanger frames, words formatted in a heart shape are options (there are others). You choose the font, text color, background color, layout, and quantity. Your order ships free in the United States and usually takes seven days from the order date to arrive. They specify information about the materials you choose like: indoor/outdoor use, museum grade paper, archival inks (what's that?), wood frames or fiberboard...

Since gift wrapping is available, I just might use one of my poems to make some birthday gifts. I messaged a seller on Etsy, and instead of responding in a few hours on chat, he stepped through the screen.

"Poem art isn't only for books, posters, or scrapbooks-- since we consume nearly everything online, creating your poem digitally is the best way to put your work in front of the biggest audience."

We started Kung Fu fighting, and I wrestled this strange person to the ground, and put him in the choke hold. He said his name is Peter Davis.

Kapwing.com

Peter tells me about some crazy conversation he had with "The Oracle" about me being 'the one'. I check Peter for drugs; he's clean. Then, he begins to explain how poetry and art go hand in hand, then, runs to my computer and starts tapping the keys like he's on piano. "Kapwing.com."

He thinks he can teach me how to make aesthetic poem art online. I laugh hysterically, and he grabs me by my shirt collar and tells me to stop dreaming about making poetry art and just do it...follow the program.

A little voice says, "Everybody fails the first time."

I go to Kapwing.com; click start editing; I choose the size and color for my blank canvas. After the digital paper is set up, I add the poetry text by adding text boxes and typing the poem. Peter takes a look at what I've created and tells me to save the address for his article that gives more explanation (https://www.kapwing.com/resources/make-aesthetic-poem-art-online/).

"Here's an example of an Instagram account where someone has used Instagram graphics. You do have an Instagram, right?"

how to
1

About the Creator

Joyce Plair-Jordan

Depicting life as real as I can make it, poetry and narratives have been the canvas. I consider myself an anthropologist of sorts, even though, I am an educator by trade. A Bachelors in English, a Masters in Education, and a PhD in life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.