Poets logo

A Love Lost

A Love Gained

By Courtney Battles Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1

I'm really beginning to see the big picture now!

It doesn't matter how much you give or how much you take, more can be given and taken.

The concern is not how much you love because the reality of how much they care will shadow the love.

Its not about the principle of why you did it, its about how much you respect the person you did it to.

What you give will never be enough to a receiver that believes they will always receive.

At times I lose myself in love. Love for my family, love for my friends, love for myself.

In these times, I tend to give and give and give! I give until there is almost nothing left!

Every time I give it comes with a price! That being my heart, my mind, my understanding, my clarity, my focus, my sanity but most importantly, my ability to give.

I hang on until I dangle from the edge with very little grip of the grain of salt/sugar that I find myself grabbing.

In every moment and in every experience, I learn how to love a different way and I lose love in a different way.

I've concluded that if its not ready when you are, than you shouldn't wait on it, especially if it took you a while to get to where you are!

Don't let your emotions freeze you in time when your dreams are continuous!

Invest your time in your own growth rather than waiting on someone else to get to where you are. They aren't you!

Every day feels like I'm losing more of a love for someone else but in return I'm learning how to love myself even more!

I’m not sure what the future holds but I look forward to it. It feels like I had to lose a love to love myself!

Once I accomplished this, the love I let go came back in abundance.

To me, this represents a notion of patience and understanding in thine self!

A Love Lost is indeed A Love Gained!

love poems
1

About the Creator

Courtney Battles

I believe in letting my actions speak for my words! Crafter of many Arts! Living and loving the space that surrounds me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.