Poets logo

WEEP

Silent Cries

By Courtney Battles Published 3 years ago 2 min read
1

WEEP

I weep for the world!

I weep for history and the history makers, for the stories and knowledge untold

I weep for the children that won’t learn cursive

I weep for public education that leaves our youth submerged!

I weep for hypocrisy, animosity, hate and politics

I weep for the blind who refuse to make it make sense!

I weep for my brothers and sisters who struggle to stand tall,

I Weep!

I weep for the injustices produced from a corrupt system , for the slaughter of men, woman and children not like you,

for the lack of interest or attention to the truth!

I Weep!

I weep until I can’t weep anymore!

Why weep to blind eyes and deaf ears?

I will no longer weep for officers to cease the violence!

No! I will no longer weep! I will no longer suffer in silence!

I will stand!

I will stand tall with a clenched fist raised to the sky!

I will speak loud so the spirits of my ancestors won’t die!

I will speak for those who have lost their voice from generations of screaming!

I will speak for our youth that believe their life has no meaning.

I will challenge those who claim to stand with us,

to put down the signs, realign and not ignore the unjust!

We must press forward, don’t ease on the pressure, our goal has not transpired!

We must move through bullets, batons, knees, gas, pepper spray and all other elements that stand in our way!

WE must, WE must, WE must, for our children’s sake!

WE must, WE must, WE must realize and understand there is more at stake!

We will weep for our fallen and demand change!

We will fight for our freedom and pray they’ll do the same!

But if they don’t, fret not, for we are powerful when united!

Walk tall, fist raised with no shame,

Discrimination!!!! WE MUST FIGHT IT!

C. Battles

27 June 2020

Covid Chronicles

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Courtney Battles

I believe in letting my actions speak for my words! Crafter of many Arts! Living and loving the space that surrounds me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.