Poets logo

A Love Letter to Pendamic

A Poem

By Muhammad Nasrullah KhanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
A Love Letter to Pendamic
Photo by Jusdevoyage on Unsplash

Blinking at the shift schedule,

I sparkled in the days of Covid.

As a doorman, I stood firm for eight hours.

My nightmares dragged me six feet under.

Winter hugged me tight still I thrived.

My employer waved at me from behind glass,

and sent appreciation letters.

“You’re a real hero;

We salute your bravery.”

I wanted to shout:

“I’m hungry not brave.

My hunger is vicious,

more powerful than a million Covid germs.”

Today I was laid off,

And Covid whispered

“Bye for now,

"You're a failure."

Mocking the echoes of "hero"

I implored in return:

“My benefactor, my livelihood,

I love your protracted pandemic chill,

Please come back.

I starve again.”

love poems

About the Creator

Muhammad Nasrullah Khan

Muhammad Nasrullah Khan is a Pakistani-Canadian writer. His short stories are well-recognized internationally , His work has appeared in Adbusters, Evergreen review, Indiana Voice Journal, Newtopia Magazine, and many others.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Muhammad Nasrullah KhanWritten by Muhammad Nasrullah Khan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.