Poets logo

A Love Letter To My City

Memories and Emotions Galore

By somsubhra banerjeePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Love Letter To My City
Photo by Tojo Basu on Unsplash

My city is those dingy narrow lanes bustling with an everlasting sound,

rays of sepia light flickering and illuminating the nooks and crannies,

my city carries all the burdens and loneliness of its people,

its roads soaking in the teardrops and balancing the happily tipsy feet,

it all teaches me to live but who pacifies her?

when my city cries itself to sleep at night?

Maybe those footprints of someone new, who arrives in the city,

maybe those dreamy eyes who look at the city with so much affection,

maybe those lost souls who returned back to its motherly lap after long,

or maybe that baul singer whose earthy songs keeps the city alive.

You may call my city old, you may call my city dilapidated,

but amongst all the chaos there's always something new to find,

there's always something old only for my soul to know,

maybe hidden in its pages somewhere lies my own identity.

***

love poems
Like

About the Creator

somsubhra banerjee

Loves mountains, sea waves, old buildings, petrichor, sound of night crickets, haiku, kintsukuroi , books, dogs, silences and also cacophonies!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.