Poets logo

A lot to keep me little

I keep returning

By Thavien YliasterPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
4
A lot to keep me little
Photo by Pedro Mexicano on Unsplash

July 27, 2021. First shopping expenditure after moving away continuing my career.

1. Peaches: Fuzzy and yellow, nice and ripe

By Lucy Claire on Unsplash

2. Nectarines: Smooth and red outside, but on the inside flesh that's white

By Freddie Collins on Unsplash

3. Plums: Not candied, but they still dance around in my head

By Joanna Derks on Unsplash

4. Apples: To keep the doctors away for another day (sometimes I pick the crisp Envy apples that are vibrantly red)

By Shelley Pauls on Unsplash

5. Lemons: To marinate my chicken and to marinate in honey

By Sama Hosseini on Unsplash

6. Bell peppers: To add to rice dishes for flavor and fiber. (What? I'm conscientious about how I spend my money.)

By Louis Hansel on Unsplash

7. Organic Spring Mix: It's not Spinach, but my arms are strong like Popeye's.

By Nadine Primeau on Unsplash
By Jonathan MONCK-MASON on Unsplash

8. Strawberries: They remind me of our strawberries we used to grow at home that mom would put in her homemade pies.

By Oliver Hale on Unsplash

9. Grapes: Red or Green? I'll get both for they're sweet and tart.

By Günter Hoffmann on Unsplash

10. Rotisserie Chicken: For $5.00, it's the main reason why my family ever visited Costco from the start.

By Amanda Lim on Unsplash

11. Chicken thighs: Bone-in and skin-on as nature intended. Plus, it's the cheapest.

By Kostiantyn Li on Unsplash

12. Feta cheese: The most expensive item on my list. Cost per pound wise, it's the steepest.

By Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

13. Ground beef: I can get a lot of it, cause it can't get away. Reason being is because it has no legs!

By Kina on Unsplash

14. Unhatched and unfertilized chickens: Eggs!

By Tengyart on Unsplash

15. Brats: To boil and broil in a pan from time-to-time.

By Kelsey Todd on Unsplash

16. Prosciutto: A rarer treat to get, as when it comes to pork this is the fine wine.

By S O C I A L . C U T on Unsplash

17. Juice: Apple, Mango Nectar, Orange, Guava and Passionfruit.

By Zlatko Đurić on Unsplash

18. Beans: Protein gains with fiber for days to make one toot.

By Tijana Drndarski on Unsplash

19. Spices: Crushed red pepper, Paprika, Sea Salt, Black Pepper, and Siracha to store in my cabinet's cubby.

By Marion Botella on Unsplash

20. Nutella and Peanut Butter: I'm not going to buy these for the next few months, as of right now I'm still feeling tubby.

By Andre Taissin on Unsplash

21. Seaweed: The only weed I endorse being in my body that's a temple.

By Patrick Perkins on Unsplash

22. Toothpaste, Mouthwash, and Floss: For all of my hygiene and oral needs that are dental.

By مشعل زاهد on Unsplash

23. Extra Virgin Olive oil: For cooking the majority of my meals, whether it's pan frying and marinating.

And for fun behind closed bedroom door -

Don't You dare even think about finishing that sentence intrusive thoughts.

By Roberta Sorge on Unsplash

24. Organic Virgin Coconut Oil: For tasteful fun behind closed bedroom do -

Stop! It's just for my hair to make my curls pop after I comb out the knots. How else do You think I get these luscious locks?

By Tijana Drndarski on Unsplash

25. Vegetable stir fry: A great way to get my veggies in at any day or date even if I hadn't had a V8.

By Brooke Lark on Unsplash

26. Sara Lee Honey Wheat Bread: When I make omelets, I add toast to my plate

By مشعل زاهد on Unsplash

27. Dr. Bronner's Soap: This natural stuff has so many uses, and it's the best. It's the goat. People love the hint when I walk by and smell like peppermint.

By Matthew Tkocz on Unsplash

28. Flushable wipes: It's okay if You don't have a bidet. Since with flushable wipes You can ensure that You don't leave any accidental prints.

By Natracare on Unsplash

29. Nose Tissues: Cold and Flu season and occasional allergies. Decent tissues are nice especially when You have to sneeze.

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

30. Laundry and Dishwasher Detergent: Cause I take care of my outfits and dishes. I have to be clean. I ain't no sleaze.

By No Revisions on Unsplash

***

Thavien's Token:

This poem was crafted for Mackenzie Davis' Grocery List challenge. Links embed below.

Also, I was confused about the whole dates thing. I know that I don't buy all the same groceries at the same time, as they tend to be dispersed out a bit more. Plus, I tend to buy things pretty consistenty. Except for peaches and nectarines right now. The winter months have taken two beloved fruits away from me taste palate.

Though, I guess using a receipt for this challenge would help as well in going over what I purchased from the store. If I type another one of these, it should probably be from Meijer, Walmart, Aldi; You get the point.

slam poetryperformance poetrylisthumorbuyers guide
4

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    Haha, nice sugar plums reference! I feel like this list was probably closer to $400, amirite? I'm headed to Costco in the morning, lol. Great rhyming, too. "Temple" and "dental" was my particular favorite. Aaaand, now I'm hungry. 😆

  • I smiled when I saw apples on your list and you know why 😈😈😈

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Well balanced, healthy grocery list. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.