Poets logo

A letter to my non-biological sister

Thank you

By Brittany RosePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

I call you my sister because when you’re 4 years old and have been in someone's life so long. You don’t know any other word to call it.

If I’m being honest the memories go so far back that I don’t remember a life without you. As cliche as it sounds, it's actually so true.

I have been alive with you being a part of my life, longer then I’ve been alive without you.

Although you’re someone I have the most memories with. You’re someone who is so incredibly different then I am. Yet I believe we complement each other so well.

You’re family, is my family. And my family is yours. We used to fight like siblings, we used to annoy each other like siblings. better yet, you still have my pair of sweatpants that you stole from me in grade 12.

There are so many things I wish I could express to you,

I don’t have a friendship like this with anyone else. And not a lot of people are lucky enough to say they have had a friend in their lives for almost 20 years straight.

When I say I have a sister this is what I mean.

We used to go on family vacations, we spent day in and day out with one another.

Fast forward a couple years we went to the same high school.

And the funny part was,

no one in high school even knew we were as close as we actually were.

We had two different friend groups, yet still loved one another deeply.

Fast forward a bit longer.

You moved to the city, and I moved to a completely different city.

We don’t have sleepovers anymore, and we don’t talk very often.

But I want you to understand you’re a part of what made me who I am today and nothing will ever change that.

So thank you.

Thank you for being there in my times of growth and realization that phat farm shoes actually aren’t the shit.

Thank you for picking me up after so many stupid decisions and thank you for being someone who I can go to for a good smile or laugh.

We don't see each other often, nor do we talk too often. But there isn’t a day that goes by where I don't think about you.

I love you so much, and I always will.

You’re forever in my heart, so thank you.

From your un biological sister

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Brittany Rose

Free verse poetry author, small buisness owner.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.