Poets logo

When I tell you I love you

what I really mean

By Brittany RosePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

I was positive that I knew what love was, that I had it all figured out. I thought that in this crazy world of dating, I had experienced love.

That was until I met you.

From the second our eyes met, I felt something much more powerful than a flirty glance.

You made me feel something like no one has ever been able to make me feel.

I know I tell you I love you a lot, sometimes it’s all I say. The truth is, I have always struggled with putting my thoughts into words, and although it may seem natural or habit, it’s anything but that.

I know they always say actions speak louder than words, but when I tell you I love you I want you to know what I really mean.

When I tell you I love you I don’t say it lightly, my love goes beyond words ever could.

When I tell you I love you, i’m telling you how captivating you are to me. I want to know every single thought inside your beautiful brain. Im so drawn to every single word spoken from your lips, and I want you to understand how connected I am to you. How mesmerizing your voice is and how much I love every part of you even the most inner parts that you may not even understand.

When I tell you I love you, its a simplified way of expressing the way you make me feel. My feelings for you are everlasting and your heart is my home. With you, I feel safe, safer than anyones ever made me feel.

There are no limits on my love for you, and thats something thats never going to change.

When I tell you I love you, it means ill always fight for you, for us. It means through thick and thin, no matter what day It is, If the sun is shining or the clouds are thick.

When I tell you I love you, it’s coming from every single part of me, from the bottom of my feet to the top of my head. Every ounce of me is infatuated with every ounce of you.

When I tell you I love you, know that it means more then just three simple words.

So the next time I say I love you, know that you’re everything to me. More than a cup of coffee on Sunday morning, or my favourite home cooked meal.

You’re someone I thought was made up in movies, someone I always dreamed about meeting one day. And now that I know love truly does exist, nothing could ever come close to the amount of love I hold in my heart for you.

Thank you for teaching me love.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Brittany Rose

Free verse poetry author, small buisness owner.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.