Poets logo

A Letter To My Future Child

Everything I Am Doing Now Is To Make Myself A Better Me For You

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
A Letter To My Future Child
Photo by Artur Aldyrkhanov on Unsplash

My Sweet Love,

:

Everything I have done

for myself in the past

Everything I’m doing

for myself today

is all to bring about a better me

so that I can be the best me for you

:

All the healing I am doing

is so you don't have to

spend a lifetime of healing like I did

All the work I am doing

is so that you don't have to

work like I have since I've been 11

So you can focus on things that make your soul sing

and live a life that's fulfilling

:

All the love I am giving myself

is so that one day I can love you

like every child deserves to be loved

So together we can bring about a better world

:

Starting with me

then with you

Until it ripples

into the waters of all

within the pool of the universe

:

I promise to love you

like a love I’ve never known

from my mom

:

I can’t promise you the world

but I can promise I will do my best

to show you the beauty in the world

:

I can’t teach you everything

but I will offer to teach you

what I have learned

:

If I’m unable to teach you anything else

I will teach you empathy

:

Something I learned quickly

as a defense mechanism

to survive my mother’s empty eyes

But it is the most important thing to have

to live a content and fulfilling life

:

I will teach you to navigate

the depths of emotion

and understanding

as the basis

for interacting within your world

and the world around you

:

I won’t teach you through words

but guide you through example

:

I will look at you

with emotion and care

I will see you and

honor your feelings

No matter the

shade

taste

or smell

:

I will listen to you

when you need to speak

I will respect your opinions

and encourage you to think for yourself

even if it’s different than my beliefs

:

I will be your shoulder

to cry on

I will lift you up

when you are weak

:

I will respect your boundaries

so that you feel safe and empowered

to be exactly who you are

and always stick up for yourself

:

I will support your needs

no matter how large or small

:

I will honor you for just being you

so that you always know your worth

I will celebrate your differences

and help you find laughter in your quirks

:

I will teach you to love yourself

just as you are

To be kind and compassionate

through all situations you encounter

:

I will validate your experiences

even if I disagree

And since I know no human is perfect

I will allow you to correct me if needed

:

I will hold you responsible for your actions just as I hold myself accountable for what I do

And no matter if you and I are in the wrong

I will always sit down with you afterwards

to have a constructive talk

that ends with us both feeling resolve

:

I will hold you

when you need a hug

I will sing to you

to soothe your soul

:

I will teach you that other's behavior

are no responsibility of your own

So shrug off what's unnecessary

and forge peace in your heart

from accepting things as they are

:

I will teach you that happiness

is a state of being in flow

and to achieve it surrender

release all need to control

:

I will help teach you

to not take life so seriously

To laugh, to play, and to

find joy in the most mundane things

:

I will help you find

your most authentic expression

Together we'll explore your most

fun and fulfilling creative outlet

:

I will help bring awareness

to your thoughts and your feelings

I will help you quiet your mind

so that you know what feels

right to your soul

and can find your life’s purpose

:

If you have a dream

no matter how silly it may seem

I will do what I can to help you

have the opportunity to reach for it

and I’ll be your greatest cheerleader

:

I don’t care

if you are a star student

or have outstanding achievements

Though I believe you can and will

do anything you ever set your mind to

:

All I care about

is that you are happy

that you are healthy

and that you know how to love

yourself and others

:

All I care about

is that you know how to feel

your way through your life

and fully enjoy the ride

the best that you can

:

Love,

Mama Smurf

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.