Poets logo

A Letter To A Mother

Asking Advice

By Pamela JohnsonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
A Letter To A Mother
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

Dear Mary,

You were barely beyond childhood when you were chosen to be a prominent character in eternity. There was I, at thirty five, following a fork that led me down the road of maternity. You were young and I was old. We were each faced with a glimpse of the unknown. You were trusting and I was weak. Your partner in life was humble and meek. Mine was of another type, all about self and what he wanted to seek.

We were single Mom's, one could easily say. Your spouse was supportive, but called away on a peaceful retreat. Mine, I clearly despised, left me in deceit. You were gifted with a special son and I a beautiful daughter. Yours was pure and good and mine was always looking for trouble. No matter how the journey began it was not an easy path to cover. Your love was deep, but pain and grief left you in a rubble. You had to sacrifice the one you loved for the sake of others. You were an Amazing Mother! I, on the other hand, failed to understand the makings of my daughter. We struggled to meet on common ground and conflict occurred in the rebound. My love is there, but I often feel like a failure as a Mother. I let the trials of life stress me like no other !!!

We are given second chances to let our love be known. Mary, as a perfect Mother guide me into this realm I desire to be shown. Give me guidance as a Mother to allow my child to be herself. Help me to be understanding for that is surely a sign of great wealth. Let there be mutual respect for as children we are called to honor. Allow us to see each other for who we truly are, individual, but one with each other.

Mary, lead me with your grace. I will look forward to a reply. I seek to find my perfect place and am asking for advice. Help me to learn and grow into a Greater Mother.

Yours truly,

Pamela Johnson

how to

About the Creator

Pamela Johnson

I am an amateur writer who loves expressing myself creatively through words when something brings inspiration to me. I love to read and explore all the creative arts. I enjoy hearing the expressions of others.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    PJWritten by Pamela Johnson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.