Poets logo

A Letter and a Prayer

An Abecedarian Poem

By Daniel J. HeckPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
2

A classic southern

Belle

Comes to terms with her love:

Dear Johann,

Everything we once knew is wrong,

For our love was not everlasting.

God, she begs,

Hand me my fate.

I cannot think upon this forever.

Johann

Killed my

Libido with German fists of rage.

May he feel your punishment,

Never to be relented upon.

Or should I have mercy?

Person after person...

Quite the Army of support

Responded to my plight

So what if he pleaded?

To hell with his words.

Under no one's plan shall I forgive.

Very well, God said.

Will you cast a stone when you,

Xenophobe and harlot,

Yet persist in sin, and your life's

Zenith doth stray equally?

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Daniel J. Heck

Poet, journaler, short fiction composer, interactive story writer, board game designer. I believe in the power of multiple creative voices within one person, and of variety as the spice of life!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani4 months ago

    Ooo this took a different turn than I was expecting it too.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.