Poets logo

A Girl

a poem

By Lucia LinnPublished 15 days ago 1 min read
Like
A Girl
Photo by Alina Levkovich on Unsplash

There's a type of girl who wears loafers,

And socks with a bit of frill,

Short skirts and nice sweaters,

With carefully brushed hair.

The type of girl with a pink notebook,

Where she writes with black pens,

Full sentences in straight lines,

Highlighted for emphasis.

The type of girl who keeps a planner,

Who doesn't forget to write in it,

Nor to check for what she's written;

She's nervous for test she's ready for.

There's a type of girl who's not me,

Neither are we friends;

I have no beef with pink, nor frills,

But I don't live in straight lines.

There's a type of girl who wears loafers,

And socks with a bit of frill,

I kick my sneakers and sneak a glance

At the girl who's not like me.

Ode
Like

About the Creator

Lucia Linn

”Some days I feel like playing it smooth and some days I feel like playing it like a waffle iron.” -Raymond Chandler

Bits of fantasy and poetry and whatnot here, comedic comics on Instagram @mostlymecomics

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.