Poets logo

City of Sirens

a poem

By Lucia LinnPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
2
City of Sirens
Photo by Abhishek Banik on Unsplash

I slept once, in a city of sirens.

Red light:

Hold still.

Blue Light:

Make noise as you go.

I don't know the causes:

Crime, fire, pain,

Death.

I wanted to open the window

And whisper into the night,

Speak to the city:

"Why are you so restless?

What ails you?"

She says:

I am a city crafted from carcasses;

My pages are written in plagues,

In curses,

In bones.

I carry the weight of fallen souls

And the heft of those who yet live.

I am weight down but voiceless,

So the sirens cry for me:

Pain, they say,

Evil, they wail.

But I say I am tired,

So, sleep.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Lucia Linn

”Some days I feel like playing it smooth and some days I feel like playing it like a waffle iron.” -Raymond Chandler

Bits of fantasy and poetry and whatnot here, comedic comics on Instagram @mostlymecomics

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • “M”2 months ago

    Great job

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.