Poets logo

A Ghazal For You

I can't write rap, I can't sing rap. I can write and speak the spoken word!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
3
A Ghazal For You
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

THE GHAZAL, Minimum of 10 lines. Couplets. All lines must have the same number of syllables. Both lines of the first couplet end with the same word. (called a radeef) This word also ends line 4, 6, 8, etc. The word preceding the repeating word follows a different rhyme scheme but still rhymes with the other words before the radeef. No words can be used twice for this kaafiya.

The ghazal (pronounced like “guzzle”) has a long and complex history, migrating throughout Africa, Asia, and the Middle East in its 1400 year history. The earliest ghazals date back to 7th century Arabia, shortly after the Islamic Caliphate was formed. Ghazals are romantic and tragic in nature, a tradition that many contemporary poets uphold.

Psh, is that all? Ghazals are tricky and require each word to be carefully chosen, so a good ghazal may take a very long time to complete. Adapted Bing

~

I said I do spoken word I really do broken word?

The music plays the right beat. I sing you talken word!

Singing is not yet my thing, It is Sue smoken the word!

Dancing to some cool music, Sweat and blue rocken the word.

I'm too old to sing this song, help me to clue in the word!

~

Very tough to write. It may take all night.

In the post above is a sample of this rhyme, this time.

What I may have right:

1. A minimum of 5 couplets

2. I worked in the last word for the two ending words for lines 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10.

3. I rhymed two other words in the same sentences 2,4,6,8,10.

4. I have the same number of syllables.

Not bad. Kind of sad. Not romantic or tragic, unless you look at how I'm too old to rap! I just need to take a nap! Snap!

performance poetryhow to
3

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Whoaaaa. My head started spinning when I was reading the rules of the Ghazal. I've never heard of this form of poetry so I was very excited to learn of this. You executed it so brilliantly!

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.