Poets logo

I Am Free, To Do As I Will

Free Verse Poetry

By Denise E LindquistPublished 6 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - October 2023
27
I Am Free, To Do As I Will
Photo by Miguel Ángel Hernández on Unsplash

Free Verse: This form of poetry has been popular since the 19th century1. It is not bound by rules regarding rhyme or meter1. Free verse tends to follow the rhythm of natural speech2 and gives poets greater freedom to choose words without worrying about rhyme and rhythm2. Bing

I am free to write about anything in the universe

with this poetry form. I can write a verse

or two and call it poetry.

~

I was sitting in a tree

trying to see

over the neighbor's fence.

It was a sentence

from a poem, that I can relate to

about a time when I climbed trees too.

My brother was so much better at it

that I gave it up in favor of a time spent on the ground. A sit

in which was in the distant past. It was a demonstration.

I wanted to wear pants, rather than skirts and the administration

said no. I think someone likes those mini skirts I would shout.

The dress code changed a year after I was out.

Could it be that we helped out in that decision?

We will never know and no one will make that admission!

You never know how influential you can be with just a slap on the knee

the climbing of a tree

or chaining the tree to me.

~

I prefer a water ceremony or a water walk,

others will hear the talk.

As we spread the word that our water is in trouble.

We do not live in a bubble.

It is up to everyone to be aware

to do their part to share.

What is going on in the world, do we holler

about where people have no clean drinking water.

Or maybe say nothing, out of sight, out of mind?

That really is not very kind!

But doing something can put us in a bind.

So, we repurpose, reuse, and recycle

we ride a bicycle or motorcycle

and so much more, keep talking and writing

as some will be able to do more uniting

for the cause while we do our part

for Mother Earth and the water, for a full heart.

performance poetrysocial commentarynature poetry
27

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Excellent free verse Denise!! 😊👏

  • This is proof of free poetry form being absolutely stunning

  • Tressa Rose6 months ago

    Love this!

  • The Dani Writer6 months ago

    Wow! This is a powerful effect and magnificently done! Congratulations on your well-deserved Top Story recognition!

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    There is a kind of stream of consciousness feeling but with a certain, firm line all the same.

  • Abdullah6 months ago

    Enjoyed

  • Margaret Brennan6 months ago

    CONGRATULATIONS ON TOP STORY STATUS! That said, this was marvelously written piece of ART!! Poem? Free verse? Doesn't matter; what you wrote is ART and it's awesome.

  • Great Insights and Nice Job CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR TOP STORY🎉♥️😉💯❗❗❗❗

  • Test6 months ago

    The world is a very confusing and non-sensical place-Loved the fre verse and the sentiments expresse! Congratulations on a great Top Story!

  • Test6 months ago

    Congratulations on achieving top story status!

  • Gerald Holmes6 months ago

    This is a great example of free verse. Congrats on Top Story

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Back to say congrats on the TS.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Wonderful freestyle. Well done.

  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    Well written & profound!

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Denise, loved your social commentary poem!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Be free to write your own words and feelings

  • I totally agree with you! Loved your poem!

  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    I enjoyed reading this. Gotta love the freedom to write whatever you want.

  • Test6 months ago

    Your writing is simply amazing. I must say that I found this piece to be very well crafted and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    great free verse

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.