Poets logo

A Friendly Meeting on the Shore

Because I love Lewis Carroll

By Meredith HarmonPublished 9 days ago 1 min read
Let's talk of silliness and things!

Pen-gu-in, my darling friend, whyfore monochromatic?

I do not know, Orang-Utan, why must you be dramatic?

It is my nature, I suppose, to use words mellifluous.

But must you use a bullhorn? Well, thanks for telling us.

I must pose! I must preen! I must waltz matilda!

Compose yourself, emotic friend, while I a meringue build-a.

I wish to travel! And to sail! I wish to meet and greet!

I have but silk and satin, may I sew you to a sheet?

Come sit by me, and pour the wine, of adventures I'll regale you!

I brought a slide show and reflector, my tales will prevail, too!

Ah, let's not fight, our quibbles rest, t'would lead to prevarication.

Agreed my dear, if we would fight, our future's lamentation.

Let us discourse the kinder things, a challenge of delight.

Grand idea! Let's dance a jig, and opera we'll recite!

My voice-like box is rusty, I cannot croak a note.

I cannot prance in leotards, so may I stroke a goat?

Perhaps I'll play recorder, or strum a xylophone.

My tricycle is broken, I'll hum in monotone.

Ah, fie, the day is young, my friend, let's gambol with elation!

Sounds like a plan, I'll raise a glass to our non-inebriation!

Did you bring some scissors? My long hair needs a trim.

I'll peruse a tome of logic; change comes from within.

The clouds approach, here comes a storm! It brings precipitation.

We'll hide ourselves in cockle shells, and practice our crustacean.

I am afraid, friend avian, wanes sun and conversation.

Then merry part, till meet again, 'tween pause and correlation!

humor

About the Creator

Meredith Harmon

Mix equal parts anthropologist, biologist, geologist, and artisan, stir and heat in the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch country, sprinkle with a heaping pile of odd life experiences. Half-baked.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Babs Iverson8 days ago

    Fabulous!!! Loving it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Joe Patterson8 days ago

    Sounds like a good time.

Meredith HarmonWritten by Meredith Harmon

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.