Poets logo

A fading specter

4. Trapped within these walls, the ghost that comfort me but never knew who he was supposed to be

By KuroHoshiPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
2
A fading specter
Photo by Mads Schmidt Rasmussen on Unsplash

a warm couch or a sinking coffin?

I can never tell what's more formal in the setting I am in

But I can tell the desires that enters into the room

How smoke around them distracts and be playful

The amazing phantoms of the night running in the ceiling

No one can see what I can see

Some say I'm a broken prophet

dabbing my cards in bloody wells

I know the gold coins in the dirt down below

Now from my body, I feel him

The light, the butterfly

He is soaring, breathing, and spiting sparks as if they are nothing

For me

The ghost behind him, wanting to guide, but I am the moth

Only drawn to the light, never to enter it or become it

I hear his secrets in candles

I wish I could tell him how many times he lied to himself

For he was a breaking dawn in mine and many eyes

There was no me without you

The sun only shines, and the moon follows along by glowing

Not to mimic or to mock

But admire how brave the sun is

Even though this mirror blocks us,

I want to show you the truth, even if I am a lie

A ruin fantasy of yours

You're more than what you're worth, even when the odds against you

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

KuroHoshi

A Poet, An Artist, and the person who tries to become a living star

I write the about the creatures from underneath my mind

Some are happy, others are truthful, but I'll let you decide what's their fate

Profile Pic made by milkymisul

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    "I want to show you the truth, even if I am a lie". That line hit me so hard. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.