Poets logo

A Dream of Yesterday

Real Yesterday Nightmare

By Manpreet Singh BhinderPublished 11 months ago β€’ 1 min read
22
Free Image by KELLEPICS from Pixabay

Yesterday I had a really, really bad dream. I was being choked by an unseen force, and I couldn't breathe. I woke up gasping for air, my heart pounding in my chest. I'm still shaken up by it, and I wanted to share it with you.

************************

I had a dream last night,

A dream so dark and fright,

I woke up gasping for air,

My heart was beating so bare.

I felt someone's hands around my throat,

I couldn't breathe, I was so distraught,

I thought I was going to die,

I thought I would never see the light of day.

But then I woke up,

And I was safe in my bed,

But the feeling of being choked,

Still lingered in my head.

I don't know what the dream means,

But I know it was a sign,

That something bad is going to happen,

And I need to be prepared.

So I will stay awake tonight,

And I will keep an eye out,

For anything that might be a threat,

I will not let my guard down.

I will not let the dream win,

I will not let it control me,

I will not let it take my life,

I will fight back, I will survive.

If you like this poem, then read my other poems and stories-

surreal poetryhumorfact or fiction
22

About the Creator

Manpreet Singh Bhinder

I’m a content strategist, Youtuber, Website developer & Expert SEO Analyst. Working hard to grow my skills.

Follow Me - linkfly.to/manpreetsinghbhinder

Creators I Like - Cathy Holmes, Melissa Ingoldsby, Heather Hubler,

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    I love the confident & powerful stance that you took in this piece! Your willpower, determination and tenacity are very inspiring! Great work!

  • That has happened to me, great and frightening poetry

  • Profound poetryπŸ«΅πŸΎπŸ’―πŸ«ΆπŸΎβ€ΌοΈ

  • Julia Schulz11 months ago

    Scary! If it really happened to be, I'd be praying for peace and protection.

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    That's pretty scary. Nicely written.

  • Iris Harris11 months ago

    We have all been there. Nice poem! πŸ’–

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Such a frightful dream but I love the victorious ending so much 😊❀️ Awesome job!

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    Eeek! I hate that feeling! Nicely done πŸ‘

  • Andrei Z.11 months ago

    Nice poem! And really great choice of image! I don't believe that nightmares have any influence on anything in our real life (well, except or psychological state), but sure thing it's better to be always prepared and keep an eye out!

  • Misty Rae11 months ago

    Been there. I feel this!

  • C.Z.11 months ago

    I felt this, great job

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Powerful and frightening!!! Well done!!!β€οΈβ€οΈπŸ’•

  • Antoinette L Brey11 months ago

    such determination,

  • Very good

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.