Poets logo

A Double Edged Sword

Backstabber

By Tracie SperlingPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Like
A Double Edged Sword
Photo by witchkingblogs on Unsplash

A double edged sword is sharp enough like a knife. The knife will cut you in two. Between the broken faith and an enemy and a friend. Knowing that I gave you everything. My heart is bruised, because it’s not the kind of love where you’d make a friend who would do anything to tear you down. Feeling loves sharp lies, you are a two timer like a double edged sword. The promises you’ve made are not the ones you should have stopped. It's not the kind of tricks but all you put on are the ones that make you wear them gloves. I know it hurts but you make it seem you think of us wearing a disguise. Betrayal is the only thing you have ever loved. But please this game is not the way that you have been mine. I stumble as you feel confused because I am removed. The knife stabs you in the back like a friend. You are paralyzed by fear, unable to make a move. Beneath the surface, the wounds hurt more than a cut. Emotions sneak up on you, leaving scars unlike knifes. Scars are not the kind of friends you used to trust. My heart is crushed with disgust afraid to love but, brokenness I must adjust. Scars will never heal unless you do. However, I know forgiveness isn’t good enough for you.

I need to carry a double edged sword like a warrior. I will defend myself in battle. I will stand tall for every battle won including fighting the demons inside me. This would be my shield for protection. I need a shield of faith. I will not be a victim of a system I despise. Under a sword, over a sword. I will rise with fire in my eyes.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.