Poets logo

A Dog's Day

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
5
A Dog's Day
Photo by Karsten Winegeart on Unsplash

I fret

I’m cold, tired, and wet

I’m shaking, thinking of the vet

Will she take me today?

Why do they always take me away?

Why can’t she stay with me today?

But it’s okay

Later she’ll take me out to play

That will make my day

She’ll say, “Good girl”

And I’ll do my twirl

I wish the car ride didn’t always make me want to hu, hu, hurl

But that’s okay

I love it when she pats my head

And when she taps the bed

I snuggle up against her

Rubbing my nose on her belly and chest

I lick her face

To let her know she’s the best

People call her my owner

But I just call her mom

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or become a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart
5

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 8 months ago

    This I love. The tenderness and sweetness. Great job Eric!!!

  • Awww, this was so adorable!

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    This is a great poem! A perfect mix of humour and sweetness.

  • The only proper relationship between human & pet. Having just taken our cat to the vet today (& gotten a good report), I truly identify with this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.