Poets logo

A Distant Dream

That feeling you have after a worst fear was realized and you've become accustomed to your new normal.

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published about a year ago โ€ข Updated about a year ago โ€ข 1 min read
10
A Distant Dream
Photo by Hamish Weir on Unsplash

Its been a month

Since she left us

Since her pain was relieved

Since we've accepted our new normal

It doesn't feel the same

It doesn't feel right

It doesn't feel real

I still hear her paws on the floor

I still see her waiting to greet me when I get home

I still miss her

It feels like a distant dream

It feels like she's been gone forever

It feels like it only happened yesterday

Time is fluid

Time is irrelevant

Time is what came calling for her...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It was her time and I wasn't ready, I'm still not ready. I didn't know it would be this hard with you, Belle.

We miss you everyday!

sad poetryheartbreak
10

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! ๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿฉต

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran12 months ago

    I'm so sorry for your loss ๐Ÿฅบ I lost my cat one and a half years ago due to his illness. This poem hit home. It's exactly how I feel. I wasn't ready at all. Love this poem!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    I love my pets and I loved this poem. Great writing

  • Manikanda Ramanabout a year ago

    Nice

  • โค๏ธ

  • Ammu about a year ago

    heartfelt one.. loved it

  • Harmony Kentabout a year ago

    Heartfelt and moving, Donna ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ™‚

  • Vairamani Sabout a year ago

    Wow!

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    The new challenge is a great opportunity to tell Belle how you feel. Talk about the good times, the not so good times, laughter, pain. Heartfelt stories are the best ones. Gives u a chance to get closure by bidding goodbye in the end. u should try it. Belle wants you to be happy and move on, She is in happy place. Remember the good times.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Furkan Ceylanabout a year ago

    Great!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.