Poets logo

a decade

in a year

By S.R. VarPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
a decade
Photo by Dino Reichmuth on Unsplash

I feel like I’ve lived a decade in a year. Without a doubt, the most profound and hardest year of my life. A year of healing. Like an immense weight has been lifted off my chest. Is this what it’s like to breathe again? To breathe deeply. To breathe completely. An inhale. A moment to savor the air. The taste of life is sweet. Exhale. Let go. Repeat.

“If the pain was deep, you will have to let it go many times.”

I don’t doubt there will be times when water will find its way to trickle through these cracks again. But I turn all of my pain into strength. So I say unto the earth—break me. Break me so wide open that the entire universe can fit in between these pieces.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

S.R. Var

I wrote to understand the world around me. I stopped to become a scientist. Decades later, I write to understand myself. Perhaps if you see a bit of yourself in my writing, it may bring you some solace too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.