Poets logo

a cup of tea

a story of love and heartbreak

By Sophie GarciaPublished 10 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
3
a cup of tea
Photo by Thomas Park on Unsplash

I set the tiny cup on top, slow and with care,

for I do not want to tip the tea, I've made for you, over.

*

I sit down, with my own cup in hand,

and I lift the cup to my lips and take a sip as I wait.

*

I look at your cup, only to find it still full when mine is near bare,

what is once warm has now gone cold with time.

*

I stay on my seat, with a cold cup of tea in front of me

for I do not want to face the fact that you are not here.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
3

About the Creator

Sophie Garcia

A hobbit. | Instagram @dennyjeantoo

Author of poetry book Bittersweet: An Anthology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jasper Wolf10 months ago

    Wow. Tough competition. Great poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.