Poets logo

A Conversation With Love

Part of "Dreams" collection

By Penrose EamesPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

She said her name was love

And I didn't believe her until she smiled

So I opened up my door

And asked her 2 stay awhile

We talked about it all

From old school to new thoughts

The liberty of the city

My journey as a man my winnings my faults

She drank tea from a small cup

As a child, she used 2 hands,

She'd look up as she sat the cup down

In her eyes I saw sands,

Her travels have been many,

Her walks have been long,

Her time has been short

Her journeys have been strong,

She sang a song.....

But I heard no words,

Mesmerized as she stroked my face

I can feel her soul on my nerves....

Love is at my table,

Within reach of my grasp,

And im hoping that she's ready

I have so many questions 2 ask..

Like why did Jennifer leave me

Why did Phala break my heart

Why did Christina take my pride

Build it up and tear it apart?

Why did Mecchie turn her back,

Why did Kara say she's done,

Was my love with Channy early,

Why did Sunshine kill my son?

Now love began 2 cry

And this wasn't my intention

But my heart had been lost

In the jumbles of aforementioned

I JUST NEEDED HER 2 LISTEN!!!!!!!!

Her cries became louder

And she fell upon my feet,

She apologized immensely

For the pain I had received.

She swore that she's always loved me

As she stood to her feet,

The sands in her eyes were gone

And in them I can clearly see me

I asked rhetorically "Are we done here"

But she replied with a "No"

She had questions of her own

Opened her mouth and let them flow

Why'd you cheat on Khris,

Why'd u leave on sleepless nights,

Why'd u kill Amanda's smile

She only had you in sight.

Why'd u demand so much

When all Kara did was try,

Why'd u yell, why'd u scream, u threw fits

Why'd u lie?

I gave you what you wanted

But with enough u weren't fit

As most men do, you searched for another hit

& as high as lust took you,

it dropped u from the same heights

It was I who dried your eyes and cleared your mind

On sleepless nights.

Now love had 1 more question

As she stood shaking on her feet

She pierced her lips, dried her eyes and asked

"Do you love me?"........

A reply was unnecessary

Because my soul felt the truth,

After all of these years I could finally let loose

No facades to be kept, no more games 2 b played

What I thought was truly love had now

Been laid to its grave....

I was amazed.....

Cause in a blink of an eye True love bid ado....

With simply a note written on a napkin that read

" I love you,

I will always be here, to be honest I've never left

And thru the sands and journeys I've kept your heart upon my breast,

I am who you're waiting for, trust I won't delay

But when I bless with who you need

With her heart please don't play"

The note was simply signed " your love and friend True"

Then there was a knock on my door, she was asking for directions.....

I'll be damned it was You.......

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.