Poets logo

A Constellation of Light

A Woollen Blanket and a Fireplace

By Poppy Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
14
A Constellation of Light
Photo by Dave Hoefler on Unsplash

You are the

Mountains and valleys

Of my heart rate

The zigzag stitching

Keeping my warmest jumper

From fraying further

A constellation of light

On a forestry floor

Sunlight flickering

Between branches

🧸

More specifically

You are the first voice

I ever heard and

The first person

Who ever loved me

🧸

You are mittens

Covering frosty fingertips

After a morning of

Frolicking amongst

Fallen snowflakes

🧸

You are the feeling

When sleep gently

Cradles you and slowly

Pries away the hands

Of fatigue and worry

🧸

You are the sweet

Aroma of lavender

And the soft touch

Of plush fabric

Pastel paints pouring

Onto a parched pavement

🧸

More specifically

You are always wearing

Your empathy on your sleeve

And carrying laughter like

It is just another accessory

🧸

You are the cool yet refreshing

Feel of a tranquil lake at dusk

Water lapping around sore muscles

A breeze catching playfully in long hair

🧸

You are alleviating assurance

And soothing solace

A woollen blanket

And a fireplace

🧸

What I mean to say is this:

Nothing can bring me comfort

Quite like my mother's embrace

🧸🧸🧸

If you enjoyed this poem check out my poetry book ‘Wasted Love’:

inspirational
14

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred10 months ago

    Some lovely words

  • 🧸❤️📝

  • Chloe Gilholyabout a year ago

    The teddy bear emojis really brought this poem out to life.

  • Kris Griffith2 years ago

    You made me yearn for my mother. Great use of imagery. Great job of showing the reader your thoughts and letting them use their imagination to see your vision.

  • Harvey Elwood2 years ago

    Ahhh I loved this- I love the images you painted in this! So good!

  • Nova Binx2 years ago

    this whole poem felt like being wrapped in warmth! thank you for sharing

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Beautiful ❤️ Tears to my eyes as I thought about my mom ❤️ Well done

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.