Poets logo

Flower Petals

He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not

By Poppy Published 2 years ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
14
Flower Petals
Photo by Colter Olmstead on Unsplash

Nervous acknowledgements

Bright smiles and dark eyes

Always focused on me

He loves me

Gazes meeting the ground

Conversations cut short

The sound of him

Calling out to her

He loves me not

My name tumbling from his lips

The sound like my favourite song

His laugh filling the air around us like

Music notes carried on a gentle breeze

He loves me

His arms wrapped around her waist

Their names mentioned like Romeo and Juliet

As though the stars have crossed them

And not us

He loves me not

When the flower’s petals have all been plucked

And all the ‘I love you’s have been said

He still loves me not

❀❀❀❀❀

If you enjoyed this poem please check out others like it:

sad poetry
14

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock7 months ago

    I feel this from both sides.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Oh wow I loved the contrasting stanza’s soooo good

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    This captured so well the uncertainty of navigating relationships. The hopeful "maybe" and the crush of disappointment. Well done!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Oh, this was sad, but the way you did this was so charming and lovely 🥹❤️ I love how you incorporated the flower-petal pulling...brings back memories :)

  • Joe Pattersonabout a year ago

    Very relatable.

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Yeah, this is deep! I love the allusions and the cadence.

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Love the stanzas off this game we played as kids. Beautiful ♥️ and sad at the same time ❤️

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Oh this is so sad. But more importantly, why am I not subscribed to you already!? ❤'d and subscribed 🤗

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    This is such a sad poem. But so very poignantly delivered.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.