Poets logo

A Colorful Identity

A Bright and Shining Spectrum

By Patty GeverinkPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Colorful Identity
Photo by Lucie Hošová on Unsplash

You can’t predict with each day

how I might feel or what I might say

Please never try to identify me

With just one color that you see

Don’t see my red, yellow, blue or green

Just learn to love my diversity

One minute happy, then I’m sad

Unable to communicate the day I’ve had

I would like for you to understand

I may wander from the task at hand

That doesn’t mean that I don’t care

wandering thoughts are hard to share

I may be verbal, or I may not

I may talk a little or I may talk a lot

My vocabulary either way

Let’s not forget, I have something to say

More that you know, we are the same

Walk with me and you’ll be glad you came.

When you see darkness, I bring light

Each day I am thankful I’ve won the fight

Just like you, I need sun and shade

It’s part of being wonderfully made

Every night when I lay down

I thank the lord who wore the crown

I don’t care how you symbolize me,

A puzzle, a butterfly or infinity

As you learn and become aware

No symbol needed shows you care

You don’t know what you don’t know

But stick with me and I’ll help you grow

The spectrum is a beautiful place

Undisguised with ribbon and lace

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.