Poets logo

A Broken Heart's True colors

Not a Lovestory

By Scott ChadwickPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5
A Broken Heart's True colors
Photo by Gaelle Marcel on Unsplash

Trapped. Awkward claustrophobia and,

Purple discomfort

Intentions of cruel red car conversations

Where even after ten years, the space,

Between us

Has never been darker,

When I tell you I no longer love you

No. Telling would have been the end of it.

Instead, I implied and left hope for things to come

Where there was none.

Brightly colored gifts were returned to me

In a fit of stupidity,

Drunken impulsivity, bravery

I threw them all away, trying,

To convince myself

I never cared anyway.

But, there is a fondness in the absence of things

And by the time I came to my senses

Our rainbow love had faded

As you followed someone else’s brightly colored sunset

Surrendering me, hands and knees,

Searching for the happiness I know

Can never be.

heartbreak
5

About the Creator

Scott Chadwick

When I was 12, a teacher who saw something in my writing, read one of my stories to the rest of the class. I knew I wanted to be a writer since that day.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.