Poets logo

A Broken Eternity

A Poem About Trauma

By Michelle Truman | Prose and Puns | Noyath BooksPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
A Broken Eternity
Photo by Thomas Dumortier on Unsplash

So peaceful until he gets home

Unsung anger explodes

In a flurry of fights and harsh words

On this full moon night

True colors shine through

Fiery red

Cold blackness

Engulfs me in the frigid air of winter

Here in misery

Stuck forever

Forever is only a few months from ending

Fly for freedom

Where coming home doesn't end the quiet

The sweet, bitter music

Flows through me like the smoke

Of the fire

Enters the air

In wisps

Trapped in the clothing

Choking me

As we stoke the fire of rage

A burning inferno

At 3000º

Going home again

As I walk toward the flames

My spell of silence is broken

My peace shatters

As I approach the gates of hell again

Home is where the heart is

My heart burns for escape

For peaceful silence

But into the chaos, I run

And it welcomes me with open arms

Welcome home Epitome

Welcome home to your broken eternity

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Michelle Truman | Prose and Puns | Noyath Books

I fell in love with speculative fiction and poetry many years ago, but I have precious little time to write any. It was high time I started making Prose and Puns a priority, starting with Purple Poetry, Auqredis, and the World of Noyath.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jennifer Plate VanHoy2 years ago

    Outstanding

  • I loved the powerful flow of emotions in this poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.