Poets logo

A breakup letter

You won't be missed.

By Tressa RosePublished 6 months ago 1 min read
9
A breakup letter
Photo by Álvaro Serrano on Unsplash

I remember the first time we met

Cure for the broken heart you were.

Your touch was that of the warmest blanket

Wrapping my whole body

Embrace of an angel.

~~~

It was like we were meant to be

The perfect match.

You made me feel like I was unstoppable

And helped me forget my troubles,

You had gotten under my skin.

~~~

You were my brown sugar

I was your damsel to be rescued.

Two bulls

Breaking China

But it was never going to last.

~~~

At first

You helped me fix my problems,

But before I knew it

You became the cause.

~~~

Putting a wedge between me and my family

Making me lose any feelings of self-worth

A vile poison

Deep in my veins

~~~

Pretty powder

Fed with silver spoons.

Black heart

Stuck under black tar.

~~~

Well I am yours no more

I saw your true colors,

I saw your true nature.

Sickness of the soul.

~~~

You lost your control

When I found that little spark

The one you tried to extinguish in me long ago

The one called hope.

~~~

Took me a while to find it,

You hid it well.

But I am learning to nourish it,

To keep any desire for you at bay.

~~~

Loving myself is unconditional

I don't have to compromise myself to feel my comfort

I don't have to risk hurting the ones I love

For a momentary feeling of bliss.

~~~

Because I now feel that bliss when I close my eyes

And feel in my heart

That for the first time in a long time,

It's me who holds the reins.

~~~

Goodbye Heroin,

May we never speak again.

inspirationalsad poetryheartbreak
9

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Rowan Finley 4 months ago

    Wow, this was powerful!

  • Kenny Penn5 months ago

    Absolutely fantastic poem! The correlation between a physical relationship and one with drugs is all too real and you lay it out so perfectly. Well done

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    😮The ultimate twist! I'm sure the majority of the readers if not all, felt this was about a significant other. The reveal made it even more powerful! Well done, and hope all is well!

  • Test5 months ago

    So want to steal these lines "Black heart/ Stuck under black tar."Really so well done and did not see that end coming at all! 🤍

  • Whoaaaa and here I was thinking you were talking about a guy. I think this is much more difficult to give up and move on from than a guy. You're so freaking strong!

  • A very exceptional poem . I felt your energy especially learning to love yourself . I have been in narcissistic relationships in my life and finally breathing a breath of fresh air is so nice

  • Jay Kantor5 months ago

    Dear-T ~ Our Little Village will always be here for you ~ We Care, J in L.A.

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    nice🤍

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Okay so...this was exceptional. Because I thought this was going to be about a fella...lol. Damn, Tressa. You can write...write so beautifully and emotionally charged. Tough subject, but you handed it with eloquence, grace and fearlessness. Fantastic.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.