Poets logo

A Break from Social Media

Sometimes you just need a break

By Sarah DanielPublished 3 days ago 2 min read
Image by ROMAN ODINTSOV from Pexels.com

In a world of noise, comparison's thief,

Steals joy and leaves our hearts in grief.

Yet, like sun and moon, unique we shine,

In our own time, our paths align.

Beware the barrenness of a busy life,

With every moment fraught with strife.

Unplug, reset, let your spirit breathe,

Find the peace that you believe.

Passions call, not random but true,

Guiding steps in all you do.

Step outside, get air so pure,

Remind yourself of what’s secure.

The quieter you become, the more you'll hear,

Life’s gentle whispers, ever near.

Peace is not conflict’s end,

But coping well, and to transcend.

In stillness find the strength you seek,

In solitude, let your soul speak.

For joy returns when noise is gone,

In silence, our true selves dawn.

Life is tough — even you’re in a good position, being confused with yourself is normal. Sometimes we feel left behind when we see people on social media that make us hesitant and discouraged. Social media is good, but sometimes it makes you distressing.

I’ve deactivated Instagram for 3 months, I feel peaceful and a bit less burdened. Yeah, we will miss our friends’ news, but it’s okay, we don’t need to know about everything, we don’t need to be jealous of other people’s achievements, we don’t need to compare ourselves, just be yourself.

I love taking photos and videos of things and my self, then sharing them on social media. Sometimes it’s draining when I start thinking whether the photo is good or not, I’m afraid what people will think of me, afraid of the judgement.

When I deactivated my first Instagram account and deleted the app, I knew it was a good thing that I could do for a while. My friends started asking — where my account was and they thought I blocked it. They’re looking for me?

Another good thing about taking a break from social media is that I know which of my friends are truly there for me when I need them. When I’m no longer on social media, who will remember me? who will keep in touch with me? who will keep me informed? who will ask me out? I think it’s a meaningful thing, when many people have forgotten you, but there are some people who want to know how you are.

Not playing social media makes us quiet, that’s right. I even thought about deleting it if I don’t need it anymore. Scrolling through social media is also a waste of time, I can use the time to do hobbies and other useful activities. Yeah, I know a lot of people think it’s tedious not to be on their phone, but try to look around and see what you can do.

When I’m at home all day, I feel joy because I have peace. I have books, I marathon my favorite series in my own room, listen to my healing songs, write a journal, make a coffee, bake cakes, build lego with my little brother and sister, watch Korean dramas with my mom, have dinner with my family, all those are the little things that make me happy and I’m grateful for that.

You need to look around you and try to take a break from social media. Whenever you feel that life is flat, motivation is lacking, and there is no change. Take your time and I hope you find your own peace and happiness.

humorfact or fiction

About the Creator

Sarah Daniel

Writer, blogger, activist. Blog, Researcher & Analyst and Content Creator at Self-Employment.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • C. Rommial Butlerabout 24 hours ago

    Well-wrought! Another good thing to do is go to your nearest park and take a walk in the woods. Leave the phone in the car. Take a notebook in case you want to write something down. Or just sit down in a glade and let nature write you a poem instead. Peace of mind is an individual's most precious resource!

  • I deactivated my Instagram back in August 2021 and only activated it in August 2023. Sometimes, that break is really needed.

  • This was so good to think.

Sarah DanielWritten by Sarah Daniel

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.