Poets logo

of ascension

introspective, inspirational poem. autobiographical too. of course.

By Paul StewartPublished 2 days ago 1 min read
of ascension
Photo by Hu Chen on Unsplash

confidence(con) stripped(tripped) bare(bar)

my obsession(another session), downfall(ownfall)

parts, though no longer, me

my descension(senseless), my call

conscience(con) seared(red) bare(bar)

my deception(septic), recall

fragmented(rage), no longer, free

my revocation(action), stall(e)

abstinence(tine) unappealing(peel)

my addiction, not at all

compartments, of my life(lie),

my conviction(convict), stonewall(ton)

*

confidence(confide) recovered(cover)

my obsession, battle uphill(up)

pieces, though no longer, me, discarded(care)

my ascension(censor), my call

conscience(science) strengthened(end?)

my honesty(honey), brutal(vital)

fragmented, still - but free

my revocation(vocation), not stalled

abstinence, beautiful feeling

my addiction - not it all

compartments, opened, of my life

my conviction, stand tall

artsurreal poetryStream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryperformance poetryMental HealthinspirationalFree Verse

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • D.K. Shepardabout 2 hours ago

    Not just a wonderful poem, but also an intriguing puzzle! So creative and genius! A very good piece on struggling with and overcoming addiction

  • Oooo, I really loved the concept and format you used Sir Paul! 🍩🥐

  • Joe Patterson2 days ago

    Spellbinding, well done.

  • Wow, Paul. Such creativity, such verbal mastery, such vulnerable storytelling. What a gift.

  • Really compelling structure and style- had to go back and reread just to take in all the depth and nuance you've instilled in this piece!! Love it, Paul!

  • What an encouraging poem that was! Loved it Paul!

  • Sweileh 8882 days ago

    Thank you for the interesting and delicious content. Follow my story now.

  • angela hepworth2 days ago

    This was so motivational!! I loved your tenuity here!

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.