Poets logo

A blue summer

For the December challenge (A layered inspiration with Red/Duck from Don’t Hug Me I'm Scared)

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
10
Johnathon and Mira from Scenes From a Marriage

“Ask me in December,” my darling whispers to me in bed. I'm cold, shivering under the blankets. Under the second part of our story with us possibly dead.

“Why are you so cold? Come closer to my side,” Duck cries. I can't hear his crying nor can I see it in the dark. I feel the wetness of his face against my skin. It warms my heart like a heat lamp.

I am sorry. So sorry. It kills me when I can't save you. You're my family, my true love, Darling.

But I feel us disappearing after every death, every strike against us, like a cleaver or an ax against our handholding, severing our tight embrace with their judgment. Their indifference. We aren't the perfect definition for a family.

“When can we move out of this place? We need to leave before they come to try and separate us again…” I tremble in his arms.

Duck sighs, cheeks drying. “Ask me in December, Red.”

I linger on the sidelines between red hot heaven and blue frozen hell. My deepest love has been sabotaged in the neverending season with the longest, blistering summer days that haunt me. I do not know why he stills my anxious heart, quieting my angry head with luscious calm…

December seems to never come. And you, my dearest love, are not coming back.

You knew me less and less, the painful trauma of our shared abuse lingering in layers and deep-seated cruelty, and as we laid down on our bed each time after, your eyes averted mine as I desperately needed you to look at me.

Now we are as blue as that summer we consumed ourselves with trying so hard to leave.

“Ask me in December,”

The haunted echo tilts my guts into blue sadness.

heartbreaklove poemsFamily
10

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen12 days ago

    So sad and heartbreaking. Every December brings a different flavor. Hoping this ends in a good place.

  • Gosh, this was so poignant and emotional. My favourite lines are the same as Cathy's!

  • Kendall Defoe 13 days ago

    Beauty and sadness often work well together...

  • Cathy holmes13 days ago

    This is such a sad, yet beautifully told story. This line is particular "I linger on the sidelines between red hot heaven and blue frozen hell," got me.

  • Babs Iverson13 days ago

    Awesome and amazing!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.