Poets logo

A Bittersweet Victory

The hard truth of Heaven’s Curtain

By Cathy holmesPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023
40
photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

I’ll take the prize.

I’ll take the accolades,

and I’ll take the congratulatory messages from fellow creators and friends.

But I’ll take it all with a tear in my eye,

and a pang of guilt in my soul.

And I’d give it back in a heartbeat

to have never had a reason to write it,

and for your stilled heart to beat again.

**

Thank you to Vocal for choosing me as a finalist in the haiku category of the Vocal awards, and extra special thanks to my fellow creators for voting “Heaven’s Curtain” in 2nd place. I am truly grateful for your support, and I want you all to know how much I appreciate you.

I realize the short poem above is not exactly brimming with positivity. The truth is, I have a love/hate relationship with Heaven’s Curtain. While I am proud of the acknowledgment the piece has afforded me, I mean every word I wrote above. I’m also aware that there are probably hundreds of other Vocal creators who have written pieces they wish they never had a reason to write, and I empathize.

Once again, thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Finally, for those who are not aware (though most who follow me are), Heaven’s Curtain was taken from a longer poem I wrote two years ago while standing on my balcony looking at the moon. Here is the link, if you’d like to see it.

surreal poetrysad poetryinspirationalheartbreak
40

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (31)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    Excellent effort! Keep up the superb work—congrats!s

  • Rana Shafiq5 months ago

    I empathize with you, my friend. It's tough when our writings stem from challenging experiences. Your special piece truly deserves the acknowledgment. And kudos on the win and being featured as the Top Story! Your heartfelt poem adds a beautiful touch. Well done!

  • Kendall Defoe 5 months ago

    Beautiful!

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    Ach, my heart. Buddy, I feel for you...for different reasons there's lots I've written I'd rather not had the experiences to write them. This was a speccial piece and I'm glad you got the acknowledgement (oh, for giggles...you would not believe how many times I tried to type that word). Also love this little heartfelt poem too! Well done on the win, again and on Top Story!

  • Dana Stewart5 months ago

    I'm sorry you had to write it but your love bleeds through the verses. Truly beautiful work. Congrats on the well deserved win and acknowledgement!

  • Cheers!! Congrats on another great win!!

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    💚😔

  • Back to say congratulations for your Top Story!

  • E.K. Daniels5 months ago

    Cathy, I felt this…. I remember reading your haiku a while ago and feeling a pang in my heart. I recently won an accolade for a poem of mine that was published in a book and on a wall in a former university. We had the unveiling tonight. It was about my Dad’s cancer diagnosis. I had a similar thought. I would have traded everything for his health. I don’t want to make this about me, but wanted to share that I understand where you’re coming from. I hope writing it has brought you some solace, and the fact that it resonated with so many, has helped you to know you are not alone. Sending you lots of love. <3

  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    Im sorry you have a reason for these pieces but they are so beautiful and heartfelt! I think your pain has really pushed your talent to blossom, the world would be a lot less beautiful without your work in it! 💚

  • Rene Peters5 months ago

    I understand that feeling as well. I'm glad you wore it though! Congrats on top story too!

  • Donna Renee5 months ago

    I definitely understand why you feel this way. ❤️❤️❤️. I’m glad that you wrote it and shared it with us!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby5 months ago

    I love your very beautiful poetry and your truly sweet and kind ways, you deserve the best and I appreciate your always wonderful thoughts and support. Congratulations on your well deserved recognition 💓🥰☺️👌👏

  • Test5 months ago

    This is a beautifully introspective. Well done and congrats even if it's bitter sweet it's deserved.

  • Jackson Gitau5 months ago

    Real heart sharing moment. Heartily encouraging. Good piece.

  • Real Poetic5 months ago

    Back to say CONGRATS!!🎉 💕

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    Hang in there. 🙏Congratulations on to story.

  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    My heart hurts for you ever having to write it but I'm so happy that your beautiful beautiful piece placed. Congratulations, it is very well deserved my friend!!

  • I'm sorry Cathy. I understand that you wish you never had the reason to write that. Bittersweet victory indeed. Sending you lots of love and hugs! 🥺❤️

  • Prayers & blessings, Cathy.

  • Real Poetic6 months ago

    Lovely poem and congratulations on being a finalist! Your haiku is stunning. 🩵

  • Mark Gagnon6 months ago

    We all write about many things for many reasons. In the end, it's all about expressing your feelings and being able to share them. Congratulations!

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    💙

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Sometimes this is how we deal with the pain, think about others who have no release. You turned it into a thing of beauty, and let us share in your sorrow. Cathy, This is one of the best "thank you" messages anyone has written.

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    I think we have to acknowledge this sometimes. There's a tension, isn't there, between pain and creativity.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.