Poets logo

80.

Poetry about growing old with someone

By Isabella RenteriaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
80.
Photo by Sven Mieke on Unsplash

Would you still love me

If I was old and grey?

Wrinkles on my body

Eyes full of wonder

I'm tired and weary

But I feel so full of life

And I always look at you

Like we're still twenty years old

Laughing and smiling together

Spending long days at the beach

Going out on a picnic when the leaves are falling

Warm coffee in our hands as the rain pours outside

Sitting by the fireplace during winter nights

Wrapped up in your gentle embrace

This is when I decided I wanted to be with you forever

Even if we're eighty, I still love you the same

Holding hands with you as we walk down the street

Helping you get ready, fixing your tie for you

A soft peck on your cheek to wish you goodbye

As you go on your day, I stay at home

Knitting while I sit on my rocking chair

And when it's time to go, I'll be with you at the end

I promised my life to you, forever and always

love poems
1

About the Creator

Isabella Renteria

"Painting is silent poetry, and poetry is painting that speaks." - Plutarch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.