Poets logo

60

Real Poetic Challenge on the Year 2033

By Kendall Defoe Published 4 months ago 1 min read
14
60
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

I would like to thank Real Poetic for this challenge. My work is very personal instead of just dealing with the changes in the wider world, so maybe I have broken the rules?

Just maybe...

And I have not written in a classical style in some time, and this one seemed to demand it (enjoy the links on Yeats and Tennyson):

That will be my sixtieth year.

I feel as though things will go on;

Same old ideas, brand new fears,

And maybe even another poem.

*

I have Yeats and Tennyson in mind

As I wonder what will come.

And in such talent I can find

That I am not the only one.

*

The only one? What do I mean?

To say that I am alone with age,

The sense of death and things unseen;

I too will turn a page.

*

So in the ten years ahead,

I expect more of the things I have heard,

Studied, felt and read.

But...I cannot think of another word.

Fly, everyone, fly!

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

Request Feedbackvintagesad poetryheartbreakGratitudeFirst Draftfact or fiction
14

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧4 months ago

    They tell me age is just a number. I liked the lower numbers more. Great poem, Kendall!

  • Catherine Nyomenda4 months ago

    We can only pray and hope more life. I hope you get to see the year and enjoy the old age.

  • Randy Baker4 months ago

    I liked the more personal approach to the challenge. And I liked the poem. Good work!

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Oight, we are all getting there, age creeping up giving us the creeps. Make it to seventy, there you are. Happy 60th. May you keep getting younger and feistier.

  • Andrea Corwin 4 months ago

    The best is yet to come, as they say. Nicely written.

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Loved it!!! Superbly written!!!♥️♥️💕

  • I loved that you went with a personal take on this challenge rather than a general one. Loved your poem!

  • Altshuler considers that the good news? That's terrifying to me, not for the harm I might do to myself but that which I might inflict upon others. But I resonate with what you have written, Kendall. Nothing new under the sun. It seemed true for Koheleth, it seems true to me.

  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    Really made me think 🤔 I love it.

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Sobering thoughts... Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.