Poets logo

4th & Too Short

A Friday Night Day Dream...

By Wolé Marville Sr.Published 3 years ago 3 min read
4th & Too Short
Photo by Dave Adamson on Unsplash

One hour till the championship game.

Now it was time for shame or fame.

I had dreamed of this moment since I was small.

I knew that this game would top them all.

This was the game I wanted for four years.

Now there was no time for childish fears.

The crowd tonight is scattered with scouts.

No time for mistakes, worries, or doubts.

Thinking back to summer practice three times a day.

Like before every game, I close my eyes and pray.

The team, the coaches, nothing but silence.

Building up heart for this ballet of violence.

We rush off the bus, like an army we shout.

Now tell me this ain’t what football’s about.

The game began, the huge crowd cheered.

Air thick with anticipation, this all feels weird.

We all played strong; we all played mean.

The field was brown and no longer green.

This battlefield of dirt, which once was grass.

The first three quarters went by surprisingly fast.

Late fourth… their ball… they're up by three.

I had feared a moment would come down to me.

They didn't have the field position kneel.

Too much time for a run play to seal the deal.

Thirty seconds left, fourth and too long.

Thirty seconds left, but their passing game was strong.

It was really just one receiver, but he was beyond good.

He scored more touchdowns, by himself, than entire teams could.

As a junior, he held county and state records thus far.

An All American recruit, versus me, barely a 1 star.

Scholarships to choose from, he was going pro for sure.

He was having an amazing game; there could be no more.

The QB commanded "Go" and so the play did.

Through facemask, he smiled like a mischievous kid.

The ball soared high, hurled into the air.

He reached for it, calmy, without care.

But suddenly, before his triumph could begin,

I yanked the ball from the sky with a devilish grin.

I landed, tucked the ball, and start to run.

I took it to the other team, as I shook and spun.

A few linemen caught the wrath of my tenacious stiff-arm.

They fell to my feet in both defeat and alarm.

I felt sweet, my return was strong, long, and on.

A juke, a hurdle, a jump, DAYLIGHT! I’m almost gone.

Ten more yards with just their vengeful QB to beat.

I drop shoulder, plowing through him, never stopping my feet.

Their whole team behind me left in my smoke.

A defender playing offense just made them all a joke.

By Katrina Berban on Unsplash

I leap into the end-zone, in full command...

I leap into the end-zone, ball in hand...

I leap into the end-zone, and I won the game...

I leap into the end-zone, my lungs burn with flame...

I leap into the end-zone, pulling all their cards...

I leap into the end-zone, after 70 long yards...

I leap into the end-zone, full of football powers...

I leap into the end-zone, sending them to the showers...

I leap into the end-zone, strong like the rock of Gibraltar...

I leap into the end-zone, like Sweetness aka Walter...

I walked off the field, in full command...

I walked off the field, ball in hand...

I walked off the field, and I won the game...

I walked off the field, my lungs burn with flame...

I walked off the field, pulling all their cards...

I walked off the field, after 70 long yards...

I walked off the field, full of football powers...

I walked off the field, sending them to the showers…

I walked off the field, strong like the rock of Gibraltar...

I walked off the field, like Sweetness aka Walter...

By Jasper Garratt on Unsplash

We take off our pads to leave for the trip back.

On the bus, all joking around, talking, I sit back.

Holding the game ball, I close my eyes...

They open to silence, no shouts or cries…

But wait the games over why am I still in my gear?

Then Coach’s voice rings “Let’s go boys we’re here!”

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Wolé Marville Sr.

Educator and youth sports coach. Married, father of four, who loves sports, movies, and music. Closer to 40 than 30, figuring it out, day by day. A story-teller from a family of story-tellers trying something old but in a new way.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Wolé Marville Sr.Written by Wolé Marville Sr.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.