Poets logo

44 in 33

My entry to the Year 2033 non-official challenge

By Tressa RosePublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
9
44 in 33
Photo by Denise Jans on Unsplash

This is for Real Poetics unofficial challenge, check it out!

I'll be 44
In the year of 2033
That is of course if this chronic kidney disease
Doesn't get the better of me.

~*~

I'm a fighter though
Not ready to give up yet
Have too many goals to achieve
Have to fix my regrets.

~*~

By 2033 I will have finished at least one book
The one closest to my heart
The one dedicated to my daughter's
Whose lives I tore apart.

~*~

By this time they'll both be adults
Able to make their own choices
It will be their own decision if they want to reach out,
Even if it's the tiniest chance of reunion, my heart still rejoices.

~*~

By 2033 I will being seeing the rewards
Of all the effort I've been making
To be a better version of myself
The benefits I'll be gratefully raking.

~*~

I'll probably still be battling depression
Have panic attacks and PTSD episodes
But I'll have mastered my coping skills
Making it a bit lighter of a load.

~*~

Whether things work out the way I hope they do
Or new challenges come my way
2033 will be a year of happiness,
I'm making sure of that today! ❤️



Limericksad poetryRequest FeedbackMental HealthheartbreakGratitudeFamily
9

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Few have hopeful thoughts of the years to come. Happy to see you as a positive voice. Best of luck with everything.

  • You paint a brighter future than many have imagined. The choices we make today will indeed be the stepping stones for tomorrow, so keep fighting and striving toward that goal. Chronic kidney disease? That sounds scary. Hugs and prayers

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    ☺️👍

  • This is beautiful! I love… “ By 2033 I will being seeing the rewards Of all the effort I've been making To be a better version of myself The benefits I'll be gratefully raking.”… & the optimistic conclusion.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    I love the optimism in this, despite the struggle. Well done Tressa. I hope your prediction comes true.

  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    So heartfelt. I love this so much. I hope you feel better!

  • Stephanie Hoogstad4 months ago

    This is a much more positive take than I expected anyone to go with for this challenge. Very well done!

  • Love this! So much positivity!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.