Poets logo

Rise Again

A poem

By Tressa RosePublished 4 months ago 1 min read
13
Rise Again
Photo by Ashton Mullins on Unsplash

Tried and true my soul does speak
Reaching through, and breaking silence
Thoughts so fragile, made of glass
Pieces shattering from unspoken violence.
~*~
Running around in spiral circles
Valiantly chasing empty promises
Cleaving to a false hope given,
My own personal Adonises.
~*~
Believing yet, of a future secure
Dreams of copacetic connection
Trying my hand at this thing called hope
"Is this love?" Being the truest of questions.
~*~
Bleach stained moments,
Selective is how I choose to remember
Idolizing the good over the bad
My white flag I willingly surrender.
~*~
Deep feeling thoughts, deeper filled cuts
Wounds that will not heal
What was once an innocent heart
Now can no longer feel.
~*~
Eager for the sunlight to touch my skin
Breaking through this new formed stone
Finding light, unbinding the darkness
Ready again to take the throne.

sad poetryRequest FeedbackMental HealthinspirationalheartbreakGratitudeFirst Draftart
13

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 4 months ago

    Powerfully beautiful. Great job, Tressa!

  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    “What was once an innocent heart Now can no longer feel.” I felt this line. Beautiful poem.

  • Oooo, I learnt a new word, copacetic! Your poem was so poignant, profound powerful and optimistic!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This isbreally good. I especially love the optimism in the last verse. Well done.

  • Cyrus4 months ago

    Love the hope encompassed by the last stanza!

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Hearts bleed but shall recover, a song that echoes through time and returns to heal.

  • Test4 months ago

    Sad but beautifully written.Fabulous work! Keep it up

  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    Sad but has very deep meaning to it

  • Stephanie Hoogstad4 months ago

    What a heartbreaking yet also uplifting poem. That final stanza is my favorite, especially “breaking through this new formed stone” and “ready again to take the throne”. Those lines are so inspirational and empowering. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.