Poets logo

30 Degrees

It's cold

By Cathy holmesPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
32
photo by Danie Franco on Unsplash

It’s 30 degrees. She’s cold.

It’s 30 degrees Celsius. She’s yelling.

Make them turn the heat on!

I can’t. It’s too warm.

I’m freezing.

I’m sorry, can I get you a blanket?

You don’t care if I freeze to death.

I’m sorry. I can’t make them.

The patient

The caregiver

The mother

The daughter

The bitter cold of the mother

The thinning patience of the daughter

She’s freezing cold

I’m boiling hot

The thinning mind of the mother

The bitter heartbreak of the daughter

Each day is the same

But every day is worse.

I can’t help her

No one can help me

It’s 30 degrees

It’s cold, Dementia

sad poetry
32

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Ahh, the pain and conflict, the confusion, the grief. It's so much to handle, to accept. A terrible disease. Hugs to you, my friend.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.