Poets logo

The Road Trip

When "one day" never comes

By Cathy holmesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
24

We talked about a road trip.

Just for you and me.

A drive out east to reunite

With friends and family.

*

We didn't take that road trip.

Life got in the way.

It didn't seem so urgent.

We knew we would one day.

*

I wish we'd done that road trip.

It would have been such fun.

Just one more crazy memory,

To add to all we've done.

*

We didn't take that road trip.

You know what? That's ok.

We have enough great memories,

To last ten thousand days.

*

We never took the road trip

We dreamed about for years.

Still every time I think of us,

There'll be more smiles than tears.

*

You'll take a trip without me,

Where I don't want you to run.

Please know that you'll be in my heart

With each new rising sun.

*

I must remain on this road.

How I wish that you could stay.

But don't you worry 'bout me, my friend.

I promise I'll be ok.

*

One day I'll take the same road,

And once again we'll meet.

We'll hug and laugh through happy tears,

When our road trip is complete.

sad poetry
24

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    This was so touching and emotional!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Just reread this poem. So beautiful, maybe me think of a friend I lost as well. ♥️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.