Poets logo

3 Times of Shock

Poem: JH poem about something starting and ending in the good and bad ways.

By Rilee AreyPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
3
3 Times of Shock
Photo by Annette Sousa on Unsplash

The first time you kissed me I was in pure shock,

I spent most my day with you convincing myself we were just friends,

That this date thing, was flirty, yet pretend,

The romantic in me saw the writing behind the perfect date,

A shared meal, ice cream, a sunset and driving me back to my place,

I knew what the likleyhood of any of this working out,

That not getting invloved would be better off for now,

But then you kissed me and I was shocked,

Because the first time in a long time I felt a connection I had lost,

An electricy where two lips meet,

An understanding before you fully knew me,

For that next week, you were pretty silent,

I chalked it up to you being busy,

But for me,

All I thought about was that moment,

What it would feel like to be felt again,

A week passes,

Another well planned date,

Tennis, the beach, pizza and a movie back at your place,

You were comfortable and fun,

And I was set on my wants,

I wanted to kiss you again,

To be emmersed in that feeling,

To satisfy the sensations I have been craving,

The whole time,

You were so kind,

You made me feel sensual and safe,

Took everything at my own pace,

You were intuned and aware,

You showed presence through your actions with care,

I was so suprised from that night,

Maybe a little to much,

Because I never expected the follow up,

Funny banter about a person trying to follow,

Has left me here, feeling hollow,

A little bit sick actually,

That I let even a little part of myself believe,

A crazy beginning to an undeniable connection to a quicker ending,

I cant blame you per say,

You communicated and were honest at the end of the day,

But I had just started to get my mind around you,

Acting as if I was the one that got to choose,

When your choice was someone I never knew,

But thats life isnt it,

I guess the connection I thought I felt,

To you, never fit,

I guess I should thank you for being considerate,

For reminding me someone can kiss,

And how a pure connection can still exist,

I just wish dissapointed wasnt what sunk in,

And that I wasnt the answer to your feelings experiment.

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.