Poets logo

27

A ludicrous limerick inspired by Pride and Prejudice

By S. FrazerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2

Growing up, I saw love as a contest.

A man was an object of conquest.

But I live with my parents,

A burden and scared, with

No husband, no money, no prospects.

Thanks for reading! This poem is a submission to the Ludicrous Limericks Challenge and is based on the Pride and Prejudice (2005) quote from character Charlotte Lucas: "I'm twenty-seven years old. I've no money and no prospects. I'm already a burden to my parents. And I'm frightened."

Which, same.

If you enjoyed this limerick, click the ❤. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Not sure if I actually have to hit the 100-word minimum for the Poets Community if it's for a Challenge... but now I have.

social commentarylove poems
2

About the Creator

S. Frazer

She/her • 29 • Aspiring writer

Email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • C Jyl Parkerabout a year ago

    Great!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.