Poets logo

#2

in chronological order only

By Jacob ShermanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
#2
Photo by Wim van 't Einde on Unsplash

My heart grew a few sizes

at the thought of you.

A son was more than I could take

and now a daughter, too?

Even my empty head

can count reliably to two

but the old ticker didn't know what to do,

so it just

got

bigger.

More room for family,

more room for loving.

We were maxed out before

but rather than shoving

or pushing, crammed in face-to-face,

we put in the work

and expanded the space

within ourselves to blissfully accommodate,

to give you your heroine's homecoming.

Every now and then,

my fingers and toes are numbing,

diverting their power

to the imagination tower

as it flutters and fries

its humble circuitry

wondering what color your eyes

and hair could be.

What your cares could be,

your worries and passions

and how compassionately

you'll make me better.

Will you be patient or fierce?

Stay-putter? Go-getter?

Will you have your mother's

bottomless heart

and your father's boulder brain?

I have more questions, but the page

is already struggling to contain

my curiosity.

I'll have to wait and see

but the velocity

of time, lately,

has slowed down greatly,

grated nearly to a halt,

it seems.

So I'll meet you almost nightly

in my deeply altered dreams

while I count the evenings,

dusks and days,

the dawns and afternoons.

You're close... but still so far away.

I love you.

See you soon.

love poems
3

About the Creator

Jacob Sherman

The desire to read, and perhaps to write, should be cultivated and nurtured with care throughout every stage of life. For my part I will inject what strangeness and truth that I can into our written history. Expect no constants but honesty.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Angel Shermanabout a year ago

    Holy wow. I sure do love you. this is absolutely beautiful and I can't wait to meet her so soon

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    Are congratulations in order? Another brilliant piece of work JS!

  • Great Piece😉📝❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.