Poets logo

18 in 2020

-ACT.B

By Alec BlackwaterPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
18 in 2020
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Growing up in 2020,

Wow, that seemed like a hoot!

Back before masks and visors were filling up your boot.

Happy New Year!

We all cried, not even old enough to drink.

Not knowing the next few months,

Would make it hurt to think.

First came the threat of WW3,

It made us quake in our joggers.

Then the fire of the Australian bush,

It caused pain to all the loggers.

The people too, the koalas out free.

They were stuck out there at 48 degree!

"Uh uh", I think, "too hot for me".

The impeachment trial began,

Though not all would call that bad.

Followed quickly by Brits bowing out,

Before Boris locked away Grandad.

Then WHO came forward and called it COVID-19,

While I sat there and thought,

“Not long before I turn 18.”

Italy put 16 million into quarantine,

Then we all struggled to keep our hands clean.

Buying up all of the toilet roll,

Clearing the shelves leaving none but one lonely bean.

This was before it was called a pandemic.

All before I turned 18.

Then the George Floyd protests came.

It caused us all to panic.

Made me consider, for a while

To move to another planet.

Then August came and I landed my first full-time job!

Sleeping in had become a habit,

Harry and Meg stepped down,

Oh gosh, so dramatic.

But then the second wave came,

And I lost what motivated me.

My job, my friends, my life.

Made me feel like a flea.

But I got a new job,

I moved out of home.

It still feels quite monochrome,

Having a house to call my own.

You see this year was hard for all of us,

Getting stuck in uni accommodations.

Not being able to catch the bus,

Missing out on our occasions,

Figuring out which mates were sus.

This year no-one is all that special.

And it has been rather stressful.

We’ve pulled together in the end.

Although you may not be able to see it.

We are now adults my 2020 friend.

And life feels pretty legit.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.