Poets logo

10 Days of Quarantine

A Covid-19 story

By Emily Farraige Published 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
10 Days of Quarantine
Photo by Amin Moshrefi on Unsplash

10 Days of Quarantine

Please note that this my personal experience with Covid-19 in my household in my province/state please follow your government’s guidelines for Covid-19 my sister tested positive for Covid-19 by a rapid Covid test on December 25th 2022 (Yes, on Christmas Day)

Day 1

I spilled my Starbucks coffee when I found out because I was shocked and trying to text my boyfriend.

My family all took a test to see if we were also positive.(we were all negative)

My family talked and accepted the fact we were probably going to get Covid-19 so we didn’t do anything differently because I need help because of my disability.

I played video games

I ate ice cream

We opened our Christmas presents

My goal was to stay positive

No symptoms

My thoughts: I really hope that I don’t die when I get it

Day 2

It was about the same as day 1 but I was really happy for some reason; probably because I was in deep denial that I had was quarantining.

I had a small headache.

Day 3

We tested again before my mom was sick but no one was positive.

I still had a headache.

Day 4

My brother-in-law tested positive so I mostly likely be getting covid because he helped me out because my mom was sick and my workers couldn’t come because of our quarantine.

I felt fine.

Day 5

My sister tested negative and went back to work.

My mom tested negative, even though she was extremely sick

I felt fine.

Day 6

The days were starting to blurred together.

I felt fine.

Day 7

I was in so much pain. Every single part of my body felt like there was a hot knife stabbing me.

I tested negative.

Day 8

I felt way better.

I felt dizzy at night.

Day 9

I had a stuffy nose.

I tested positive but still my mom was negative.

Day 10

I didn’t feel sick but I was positive.

That was the first 10 days of my quarantine. I ended up quarantine for a week and half more because my positive didn’t went away until then and my mom tested positive 5 days after me. I honestly say it was frustrating because I felt fine but I still had a very light positive line for days.

So that was my covid story. Again please follow your local government’s guidelines for Covid-19.

Today’s poem

This purple prison.

Oh, how crazy I feel.

Being locked up for a crime that I didn’t commit.

This purple prison.

There’s another’s in here.

That are being torture in here.

While I sit and wait for my release.

Oh, how wonderful it would be,

to touch the purple flowers again,

outside of this purple prison.

Where my love is waiting for me,

with my freedom.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Emily Farraige

Hi!

My name is Emily. I’m disabled and in a wheelchair. I love fashion and pop culture. I’m a burlesque dancer. I just want to keep it honest about my daily experiences, and hopefully help people.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.