Poets logo

Longing in the Night

A Poem of Love and Solitude

By Emily Chan - Life and love sharingPublished 24 days ago 1 min read
Like
Longing in the Night
Photo by Tony Detroit on Unsplash

In the deep of night, I long for you so dear,

To see your face, to hold you near.

My heart aches with a longing so true,

You can’t imagine how much I miss you.

Unpredictable moments, I’m overwhelmed by desire,

Helpless and defenseless, my heart’s on fire.

I surrender, admit defeat to this fate,

Letting myself miss you, it’s a heavy weight.

I’ve tried not to be moved, but I fear,

Thoughts of you can overwhelm, it’s clear.

So I avoid staying in, I go out to play,

Yet solitude brings thoughts of you my way.

Alone, I can’t help but shed a tear,

My longing for you, it’s always here.

I seek out jokes to make me grin,

But beneath the laughter, you’re still within.

I smile and cry, my heart in two,

Eating chocolate, thinking of you.

In my heart, your absence stings,

Missing you, missing you, it’s a song that sings.

Words and texts, reminders they are,

A movie, and a smile, all bring you to me.

Little warmth, it’s your presence I feel,

Accidentally, I’ve become so real.

Vulnerable now, I step with care,

Avoiding the landmine, I’m aware.

Always miss you, your warmth in stride,

But sometimes, I let hope subside.

Before we met, messages could be erased,

But now, they stay, leaving a trace.

Last night, I gazed at the sky so wide,

Wanted to message you, but what to confide?

I miss you deeply, that’s a fact,

But I won’t intrude, that’s my pact.

You’re my everything, my constant through and through,

I find my happiness in loving you.

Thank you for reading!

love poemsinspirationalheartbreakfact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Emily Chan - Life and love sharing

Blog Writer/Storyteller/Write stores and short srories.I am a writer who specializes in love,relationships and life sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake23 days ago

    "Alone, I can’t help but shed a tear" We all do that in a climax of disappointment!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.