Poets logo

1 year away from the bottle

sober

By Blake RobertPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
1 year away from the bottle
Photo by Vasil Korzh on Unsplash

1 year has passed since i stopped picking up that bottle

For every shot or glass or swig from the liquor made me feel like I hit the lotto

It would encourage me to do some dumb shit

Would be out of my mind but for some reason I like it

Started at a early age before the really enforced it

Got carried away and it blocked my meds and went into mania with depression

Broke things lost things even induced aggression

Led me to losing my sight on what I was working towards

Just me and the bottle breaking boards

Alone or at the bar I worked or even at school or on camping trips

For it made me a person that wasn't me rocking the wrong battle ships

But there always was some good stories behind the booze

Tho sometimes I would get so shit faced i would black out and snooze

For it was a never ending battle of just trying to socialize and being outgoing

To some it was the opposite of who I truly was showing

For all in life it started when I went fishing

I was with my step dads friend and we were wishing

That we had brought more water or soda

For his buddy said man i thought i told ya

I cracked open the first beer and downed it cuz I was thirsty and it was hotter then a sheep's ass in a pepper patch that day

So I kept throwing them back one after one cuz I was thirsty

I eventually laid down cuz everything was blurry and shifting all over

Woke up next to his girlfriend with her shirt half way off her shoulder

Like wow this shit is crazy

Got up and everyone was passed out or just being lazy

Saw that the guy had a bite on his catfish rod

Tried to wake him up and he would budge so i pulled it off the holder

It was like I was trying to reel in a boulder

Thing flapping around and bending the rod almost to the ground

He finally woke up and said damn is that a fish I herd that sound

I got it to shore looking like 26 pound blue catfish

I handed over the rod and said this is yours going to make you a good dish

He said that was your catch you reeled it in

But I was drunk and just tried to help a friend

For after that day we went into town

I walked into the nearest gas station looking down

Miss can I use your bathroom in a polite voice

No one can use are restrooms unless your a customer with mean give you a choice

I had no wallet on me or anything for I was young but what happened next was so wrong

I went into a isle and pissed all over the chips will humming a rock song

Then carried my way out the door and falling into the truck

They all turned back at me and said why are they yelling at us I said lets go damn my luck

So by the time I got home they all had a good laugh but i was sunburnt and hungover to the core

For that one time of miss judgement lead to many more

So as I got older the booze got more proof wise then ever

I was scattered and was not clever

Led to parties and pong and girls and weight

For it pushed my boundaries and my fate

So last year I collected myself and for some reason wrote down the date and put the empty bottle on the shelf

Because I knew It would carry down more then bring me up and I started keeping to myself

For I made that decision on my own with out anyone's help or meetings or lecture

Tho i had to battle threw all the things to me that matter

I see it every day on commercials ads and magazines and places I go by

I will keep going life's a garden dig it until the day and try

To face it head on and say you can overcome anything you put your mind to

This is the date August 14 two thousand two!

Sincerely Blake Robert

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Blake Robert

I Write to express my own outlook on any giving thing I come across or think about. Please give me insight on things if you have any input to how I can become better at what I do. Remember LoveWhoYouR!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.