Poets logo

Shelter

I Am Here

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 12 days ago 2 min read
17
Shelter
Photo by Fabian Fauth on Unsplash

If I were on the ground crying would you help me?

If I were hungry and I needed a meal would you feed me?

If I smelled foul and I needed bathing would you bathe me?

If you turned me away and left me there standing I would still love you, I would still love you.

If I was hurting and my skin was bleeding would you bandage me?

If my life was in danger and I needed a safe home would you shelter me?

If I needed some clothes to put on my back would you clothe me?

If you turned me away and left me alone I would still love you, I would still love you.

If I was afraid and my body was shaking would you come hug me?

If I was blind and my eyes couldn't see, would you hold my hand and guide me?

If I was dying in a sea of destruction would you be there to save me?

If you turned me away and left me to die I would still love you. I would still love you.

⚜️⚜️⚜️⚜️⚜️

Zechariah 7:10

"Do not oppress the widow or the fatherless, the foreigner or the poor. Do not plot evil against each other”

Deuteronomy 10:18

"He defends the cause of the fatherless and the widow, and loves the foreigner residing among you, giving them food and clothing”

Leviticus 23:22

"When you reap the harvest of your land, do not reap to the very edges of your field… leave them for the poor and the foreigner”

⚜️⚜️⚜️⚜️⚜️

The New Colossus

Not like the brazen giant of Greek fame,

With conquering limbs astride from land to land;

Here at our sea-washed, sunset gates shall stand

A mighty woman with a torch, whose flame

Is the imprisoned lightning, and her name

Mother of Exiles. From her beacon-hand

Glows world-wide welcome; her mild eyes command

The air-bridged harbor that twin cities frame.

"Keep, ancient lands, your storied pomp!" cries she

With silent lips. "Give me your tired, your poor,

Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,

The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.

Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me,

I lift my lamp beside the golden door!"

Emma Lazarus / November 2, 1883

⚜️⚜️⚜️⚜️⚜️

With Love, RHC ❤️

social commentaryStream of Consciousnessperformance poetryinspirationalGratitudeFriendshipFamilyart
17

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Rebecca Patton2 days ago

    This was very well-written, emotional, and thought-provoking. I like your use of scriptures and your message is one we should remember daily. Great job!

  • Hannah Moore4 days ago

    Such a noble principle I fear has been quashed.

  • Shirley Belk7 days ago

    Hard to tell if you are describing the homeless in our own country who often receive less hope and chance than those from foreign lands. I wonder if we fixed that problem, would we be more inclined to open our arms? Times are getting worse everywhere, it seems. The answers are as hard as the problems. Loved your poem...very GOOD points and heartfelt.

  • L.C. Schäfer7 days ago

    Hits hard, should be TS imo

  • BrettNotGreg9 days ago

    Incredible and so powerful!

  • The Dani Writer10 days ago

    Oh, Rick! This is so heartfelt! What we do for others not only makes a difference to them but also to ourselves. We are not fully balanced without that care, compassion, and love towards others. Walking around with people thinking, "drunk" or "on drugs." NO!!! Care, compassion, and love deficient.

  • Well-wrought! A lot of the reason for the imprecations against abusing strangers in the ancient world was because gods (or in the monotheistic religion, angels of God) were thought to walk among humans in human form, and one might not know such a one from a beggar!

  • D. A. Ratliff11 days ago

    What a beautiful and meaningful piece, Rick. If only the answer to your questions was always yes. Very well done.

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 days ago

    Very Beautiful Work Cousin!!!!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 days ago

    I felt this one, Rick! For me, it was an expression of truth, reality and poses us the questions of our own stance when faced with a similar reality. Love remains, regardless. Excellent work!!!!

  • What a beautiful piece! It reminds me of Matthew 25: 35, 36 & 40: ‘For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me… The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’ The New Colossus is wonderful too! Living in Australia, I hadn’t come across it.

  • Rachel Deeming11 days ago

    I often imagine what it would be like to seek asylum and whether I would be welcomed or shunned. A powerful piece, Rick.

  • JBaz12 days ago

    This line struck a chord. It is so simple a task but would we? ‘ If I was afraid and my body was shaking would you come hug me?’ Well said Rick, a beautiful ask

  • Natasha Collazo12 days ago

    Love!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.